Ridgeland, Miss.─At a Monday evening awards reception at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, BankPlus announced the winners of the 12th Annual High School BankPlus/Blitz 16 Coach and Player of the Year awards. The Coach of the Year award went to David Sykes of Jackson Academy and Player of the Year to Charlie Scott, a senior at St. Andrews Episcopal School. 

In recognition of their outstanding contributions on the field, each honoree received a trophy from BankPlus and permanent recognition on a brick outside the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum.

“BankPlus is proud to commemorate the 12th annual Player of the Year/Coach of the Year Program where nine of those years have been with WAPT/Blitz 16,” said Gene Delcomyn, Regional President for BankPlus.  “This program has allowed us to showcase the many fine outstanding young men who have worked very hard and devoted their energies to bring excellence to their sports program.  By supporting such programs, we are able to ensure that the proper recognition is given to these student athletes in the Metro area.”

The 2010 BankPlus/Blitz 16 Metro Football Players of the Week are as follows:

• Devonte Wright, Callaway High School
• Jabari Baker, Forest Hill High School
• Akiko Thompson, Clinton High School
• Michael Martin, Jackson Academy
• Johnathon Watts, Wingfield High School
• Stewart Summers, Madison Ridgeland Academy
• Akiko Thompson, Clinton High School
• Nick Johnson, Ridgeland High School
• Dalton Welch, Jackson Preparatory School
• Carl Brice, Callaway High School
• Charlie Scott, St. Andrews Episcopal School
• Hull Bolls, Jackson Academy